One week to go!

I can’t believe there is only one more week left until the half marathon! I realized I never “announced” which one I was running! Back in January, I decided a half marathon around the third week of March would be ideal for my training plan and my history of when I tend to feel best in a training cycle. I thought about the RnR USA Half on March 16, but thought there were too many logistics to worry about (place to crash, etc.), so I chose the Caesar Rodney Half Marathon in Wilmington, Delaware on Sunday the 17th. (It was cheaper than USA, too….)

This sounds strange, but I set my goal for this race on July 30, 2011. That was River to Sea, when I averaged 7:05 pace for both my first 6.5-mile leg and my second 7.95-mile leg and felt even better at the end of that last one. It was then that I realized I could probably run a half marathon, race it, fast. Obviously, things did not work out at all regarding this plan since that day. So, I am finally running this half marathon that I planned to run, hypothetically, in 2011. I had done two workouts prior to the relay…as in, two workouts in July having not been ready for them since the prior March due to injury. My goal right now, for next week? I would like to run under 1:35:00, meaning 7:15 pace or faster. Doable. I know it is. Some days I am really confident, others I am not. I think that means this is a good goal. 

I skipped the Intervals workout Tuesday for the first time this season, so I could finally  get this tempo run over with. It was sad. But I am glad I did the tempo. Tempo day was Thursday, but it may as well have been Tuesday, because I was flying on Tuesday. Unfortunately, I paid for it Thursday, because I was tired. I mapped a five mile route…actually, like five of them, but I finally decided to do a mix of towpath and hilly roads, to mimic the elevation profile of the race, on a smaller scale. Oh, want to see it? It’s beautiful:

More on this later.

The weather was strange, cold and warm at the same time, humid, snowing, raining, not raining – just confusing. I wore shorts, obviously, and sweat like crazy of course. I did a longer warmup than I intended. At 7:38 pace. Short story: it was not my ideal tempo day, but in the end, I thought this might be a good thing. All my workouts have been mentally easy, and somewhat physically easy, so I needed to be prepared for this come next week, just in case. I wrote the mile marker landmarks on my arm. I hate writing on myself for some reason, but I had to do what I had to do! Reason #1 why I need a Garmin!

…does anyone else do this for tempo runs? Or am I just a lone, sad GPS-less runner?

Splits…well, approximately (+/- ~2 seconds?) since I did not specify which side of each house/driveway I was supposed to split my watch: 6:44 (flat towpath and climbing up from the lake), 7:12 (hilly roads, mini shock to the system for a moment), 7:11 (more hilly roads, almost quit), 6:54 (uphill, flat, and downhill roads), 6:29 (all flat towpath, might have stopped a little early, around 20 meters?). The splits sound so varied, but the “course” I mapped was even more rolling than I thought it would be! At the end, I was sufficiently spent. The nice cooldown felt well deserved and good, like cooldowns post-workout should be. 

I literally ran to work, and later that day, we received a visit from our New Balance rep, who is super cool. There was this movement around Princeton a couple years ago called “Eat More Kale.” It is a Vermont thing, apparently (and a hipster thing…a vegetarian thing, the list goes on…), but it was big here; people had bumper stickers and t-shirts. Anyway, now we are going for “Sell More New Balance!” They have reinvented themselves, make good running shoes, and deserve to be known, and worn! I like any excuse for dinner and drinks post-work, so it was a good night. 

I am a bit behind on writing, but next up will be my run at Watchung Reservation with fellow RunCo employees this morning, and some interesting, thought-provoking (if I say so myself) musings about life that came to me this (great) weekend. 

In the meantime, a few questions for you: What are your initial thoughts when you hear “New Balance” in regards to running? Have you/do you run in NB? How much longer can I get away with training without a Garmin and not waste a ridiculous amount of time mapping routes and writing on my arm?

 

 

 

One thought on “One week to go!

  1. Pingback: Taper madness & a marathon pep talk with myself | SHOE STORiES

Leave a Reply

