what I’m learning so far from my nuun HTC application

I did not mention it before, but I am applying to run Hood to Coast with NUUN! I’m not going to lie, this was a big reason for me starting this blog in the first place, or at least, starting it when I did. I had wanted to blog as an outlet for my running ramblings, an extension of my work, and because I have had a passion for writing since before I learned to spell words correctly. When I heard about the opportunity to run HTC with Nuun, I anxiously awaited my turn to apply. The main reasons why I want Nuun to choose me SO BADLY – I’ll put it simply:

1. I love running. That is an understatement.

2. I love relays. River to Sea 2011 was one of the best days of my summer year. And that was a pretty epic and awesome year summer.

3. I love Nuun. I thought it was okay, and didn’t use it regularly, until this past summer, when I noticed how much it helped me during all aspects of triathlon training. From then on, it was a staple.

4. I love meeting new people. Especially runners! They get me. Runners know what that means.

5. I have never been to the West Coast.

6. I have not been on a plane in 5.5 years

7. Let me repeat that:  I HAVE NOT BEEN ON A PLANE IN 5.5 YEARS!!!

I started working on the video last week, and it’s due this Friday. Easter weekend kind of put a dent in things as far as productivity is concerned, because I am relying on other people for a lot of components of the video. I always seem to make things hard on myself….

I’m not giving anything away just yet, but I will say I am learning a lot of unexpected things in the process. Behind the scenes, here’s what I am discovering….

– I am breaking out of self-consciousness when it comes to video cameras. Everyone hates their own voices, am I right? And everyone judges themselves harshly. But screw it. This is supposed to be fun, and I need to just be myself, like I would be if I wasn’t being recorded. So I am, and it’s working out just fine. I’m learning to laugh at myself, deal with my voice and facial expressions on camera, and take risks. It’s been a lot less “OMG, all of Blogland is going to see me, am I smiling enough? The right way? Does my hair look okay?” and a lot more “Is the sound level okay on this clip? Where should I start and end it?” than I thought it would be. I thank Brennan for this.

Image

Spoiler: the back of my nuun-tube-shirt! I’m taking orders…pick your flavor!

– Windows Movie Maker is FUN! I want to make videos all the time now! For what, I don’t know…give me a reason?

– Making a video application is a lot like blogging. (See, I’m getting the hang of it already!)

– I prefer my Blackberry Torch to any touch screen-only phone, e.g., iPhone or Droid. I like my keys and my screens simultaneously. I also like having an actual camera so that I don’t have to take my phone around in order to take photos (I’m not exactly a phone-attached-to-hip kind of girl when I’m satisfied with where I am and who I’m with at the moment…that is a literal statement, in case of misunderstanding). But iPhones can do some pretty handy stuff. They also seem to never run out of battery. Just saying.

– A LOT happens in five seconds! In ten seconds! In two seconds! Man, these clips are short. And they should be! It’s surprising! Over the past couple days, I have trekked all over town just to film a few seconds of footage! The times I’ve collected more, it just seems too long! Crazy.

– First-year MAE grad students aren’t allowed to play with lasers yet. Oops.

– Chemistry students, however, can do whatever they want.

– If you give a national team rower Nuun to drink after practice for the video clip, she will give back the bottle almost empty, be prepared to reload!

– If you yell threatening things on a busy sidewalk, you must laugh after recording, exaggeratedly so, in order to ward off concerned glances from shopowners and passerbys.

5 x 1600

My college track.

In other news, I just got back from a fantastic Intervals workout. We were hoping to get on the high school track, and I was really excited since I haven’t done an actual track workout (tracks we can use are hard to come by here so we improvise) since…oh my gosh this is nuts…March 2011? As a former track runner, intervals on some other loop, even 5 x 1600 exactly, isn’t a track workout, because that must involve an oval with 6 painted lanes and a real starting line. Anyway, we ended up not being able to go there, and resorted to our normal winter location, where a loop is 1/3 of a mile (AND BRENNAN CAME BACK AT LAST!). I had been tired the past few days, but I was feeling better and decided to aim for 6:22. Why 6:22? That was the pace I have been hitting for my first mile when I go out too fast…in a tempo run and in the half marathon. So, obviously it feels good to my legs for some length of time. If I could hit that five times, that would be reasonable. The rest was three minutes, which I felt was perfect. I started fast from the gates and felt awesome. Kind of like my core and arms were doing the work for my legs, and my legs were just moving to keep up with the engine.

Splits: 6:15, 6:15, 6:20, 6:25, 6:24; Average = 6:19

I paid for the 6:15s as soon as I was done with them, but the deed had been done. I had a feeling 6:15 five times would be ambitious, but I thought I’d still shoot for 6:25 or under, which I did. I felt like this workout made me stronger, and I was not completely dead afterwards. Crazy runner thoughts, mile repeat edition: Could I have really pushed it and hit 6:15 for the last three? Could I run 6:19 pace for a 5k right now, which would be 19:34 which I would love to run? If I ran this fast for this workout, what could I run Yasso 800s in (I was discussing this workout with my aunt on our long run and I really want to try this before May 5th!)? What would that really mean for my potential marathon time? Could I run 3 x 1600 in 6:00?

Does anyone else have a dialog like this post-workout or long run? I’m not complaining, I don’t know what I’d do without it! It’s like an internal personal motivator.

Stay tuned for the outcome of my NUUN HOOD TO COAST application!

3 thoughts on “what I’m learning so far from my nuun HTC application

  1. Seriously, I’m never going to have a career in film editing. But that was fun. I’m so glad I was able to help you make you (and have you help me with mine!). Fingers crossed!

  2. Pingback: Running lately | SHOE STORiES

Leave a Reply

