I guess I’m hurt…but here’s how I’ve kept busy

It’s probably easy to figure out that I’ve been out of the loop (blogging, reading blogs, doing exciting runs that are causes for exciting blog posts) because I’m hurt. If not…well there, I said it. I used to be accustomed to this…but to be honest, with the luck I’ve had this year, I am really disappointed. Long story short, the ITB injury isn’t a debilitating injury like last winter’s ITB injury on the other side, or a stress fracture. I can walk around without pain and do short little jogs across rooms, but I know that if I went on a steady run, the grinding pain at the knee would be inevitable. So, I am trying to be patient. I have races to run this summer! I’ve never been injured this time of year, and I need to get better so I can enjoy it! Let me reword that: I like running when it starts to get really hot so that the rest of the summer I am already acclimated and it’s no big deal. Honestly though, call me crazy but  there is no weather that is bad running weather for me. I’m doing all I can for it, and that’s all I’ll say about that for now.

The route.

My last post, on the surface, seemed like everything went downhill. That’s not true though, as my life has a strange way of balancing itself out, often by weighing down both ends to the extreme. On Memorial Day weekend, I attempted to not get so down about the inability to do a long run on such a nice Sunday by planning an alternative: a bike ride to Lambertville and back. It was also my first bike ride with someone else. I wasn’t sure what to expect…crazy, considering I prefer to run with other people as much as possible. You may remember the time I ran to Lambertville with Brennan in February…we basically took the same exact route there, but biked to our starting point from where we were. Some of the hills and gusts of wind were rough, but I tried to not let my speed get too low. I find that my pace varies probably a bit too much on rides, depending on elevation, and sometimes I don’t push hard enough and lose focus. This ride was a new experience for me because I was constantly paying attention. While nothing feels as satisfying as running, I could tell by the end that I had made a much greater effort than usual, without totally overexerting. The trip there was about 18 hilly miles, for which which we averaged 15.2 mph. We found a great sandwich shop when we arrived and ate lunch on the bank of the Delaware River. Getting started again, especially starting up THE BEAST (River to Sea Relay reference: hardest leg of the relay…now imagine it on a bike) was rough on our quads, but we made it up and over. Unfortunately my bike buddy suffered a tire blowout less than four miles from our finish, and I had to finish alone and turn back for a rescue mission via car. I ended up averaging

The view.

16 mph for the return trip, which was our goal (yes, we had a pace goal for this casual ride, whose blog do you think you’re reading?!?). All in all, it was a great way to spend a cool spring day when running unfortunately wasn’t an option. It had been awhile since I hadn’t spent a weekend in a huge rush, driving and running around trying to get to places on time and get things done. This weekend was just what I needed – the very opposite of that. I enjoyed it for what it was, and didn’t think about what it would have been like had I been able to run. Easier said than done…but logically, what’s the use in that?

 

I love presents!

I’ve been getting a lot of packages at work…this makes me happy. I never get packages at home! Often, they are seeded clothing pieces, since I am serving as our store’s “apparel liaison” and therefore get to try out some of the clothing we stock so we can better sell it. On Tuesday, however, I noticed there was a small, lightweight box addressed to me from an unfamiliar address in Massachusetts. I opened it and was so surprised! I immediately burst into laughter. The contents:

When in Boston this year for the marathon and expo, I was on a mission with one of my shoe-company rep friends to steal a Sam Adams 26.2 pint glass. Sunday night, we knew it was now or never, and we tried so hard only to return from the bars empty handed. I can’t tell you how many times we ordered the special edition brew. I mean, not just for the glass, but we definitely would have added more variety if not for the glass mission! So, he had sent me a plastic 26.2 glass! How awesome is that? Apparently at his recent sales meeting in Boston, they gave them out…with the yellow handkerchiefs, I suppose just to look good and not snap. I’ll get a real pint glass someday, this one is good enough until then. 🙂

I never put recipes on here, mainly because my version of cooking or otherwise food-preparing would probably be mocked by everyone else out there. That being said, I’ll supply you with the specifics of the really interesting sandwich I had in Lambertville from Ennis Market (made by someone else, see what I’m doing here?). It was awesome. Raisin bread + turkey + scallion cream cheese. It was put in the panini press, but I’m sure a toaster oven would do the trick. Simple. The onion perfectly complemented the sweetness of the raisin…who would’ve thought?

Random link of the day…I was introduced to Kristen Bell’s sloth meltdown clip on Ellen tonight. I love it. She is now my storytelling idol. I think it’s great that celebrities act ridiculous about things just like everyone else does, in some way. If you’re feeling down, definitely watch this gem.

5 thoughts on “I guess I’m hurt…but here’s how I’ve kept busy

  1. Sorry to hear your ITB is bugging you. Hope you continue to feel better! At least biking hasn’t bothered it and you have been able to get out and enjoy the summer weather. 🙂

  2. Dang. Cranky ITBs suck, and are extraordinarily finicky. Blergh. 😦

    Glad you got out on your bike and had a chance to relax last weekend, though. Keep your chin up, stay away from fellow run-bloggers if necessary, and (sorry, gotta say it) this too shall pass (ducks).

  3. OHHH MAN!! I hope you feel better soon!! Give it time and let it heal!! Biking is a great cross training as long as it does bother your ITB!!
    Did you ever go open water swimming??
    That clip was really funny!! I love Ellen!

  4. I can’t imagine being as good of a runner as you and having to be out of the sport due to an injury… I am so sorry for ya, lady. 😦
    That Ellen video is the best!!!!!! I laugh so hard every time I watch it!!!

Leave a Reply

