October 3rd

It’s the 3rd of October, and in my life as a runner, this date is significant. 

Exactly one year ago today was my first run back after my last (and 9th) stress fracture. This means that I am officially ONE YEAR STRESS-FRACTURE FREE. I am so grateful to be able to say that, despite how strange it might sound to all of you. I have to say that I’m not exactly sure how I managed to do it, but I’m so happy I did. October 3rd is similarly significant because it was the date of my first stress fracture six years ago. 

In this past year, I was able to:

  • train healthily for my first half marathon, and crush my goal (1:35) by a minute and a half (1:33:33).
  • find interval and other speed workouts fun again
  • train healthily for my first marathon, and also run faster (3:25:02) than expected (just under 3:30), with a negative split I would’ve been scared to see beforehand on paper (1:43:50-1:41:12)
  • qualify for the Boston Marathon by 9:58
  • run a 5k PR (track excluded)
  • run River to Sea
  • run HOOD TO COAST WITH NUUN!

I have big running plans for the near future, but I also know that patience really plays a huge role in becoming the best I can be. There have been several things in life lately that have given me good reason to totally dismiss the phrase, “good things come to those who wait.” The one thing that keeps me from doing so is running. Though, I should rephrase it a little:

Image

 

Leave a Reply

