Running lately

I have had some noteworthy long runs and workouts lately that I have failed to write about, mainly because I have had other running-related news to share that has been a bit more engaging than writing all about myself! (See: Perfect 10 Miler course preview, Savannah trip…and I guess I thought it was imperative to show you my t-shirts, huh.)

Let me take a step back…

September 22 long run: I ran twelve miles as my long run this week, and had some good company. I mapped a somewhat engaging route, taking us down to the towpath, turning right, and continuing farther than I have been in quite some time. We got off the towpath a couple miles down, taking a road all the way out until it intersected with a common, hilly running route. All if this formed a big loop, with nothing repeated twice. It was a lovely, 64-degree sunny morning, and I could think of nothing else I’d rather be doing. The longest stretch of time during which I wasn’t talking was probably five or ten seconds, making this run certainly classified as “conversational.” It was a notable long run for me because of how the stats compared to this fact.

Sometimes it’s not the races, or the speed workouts or tempos, but the ordinary runs that are the runs that boost us to a new level of confidence. I definitely could run Boston at that pace was the first thought that came to mind. Heck, I was talking the entire time. I wasn’t exactly well-prepared for the run, sleep-wise, or hydration-wise. But it was totally fine, and easy. And I averaged 7:36. So while 7:36 for 12 miles isn’t super fast by my standards, I still think it was my strongest “normal long run” to date given how I felt and the fact that I wasn’t concerned about my pace, and that made me happy. So did the Starbucks protein fruit smoothies we got immediately afterwards, after salivating over the thought of water and/or fruit juice the last two miles (little did I know, this smoothie would become a weekly tradition…).

Note: This was my first run in my new North Face Better Than Naked Singlet, which took me way longer to buy than it should have. New favorite shirt – I’ve been digging TNF lately.

September 24 PI workout: The workout two days after this was one I actually came up with: 2400-1600-1200-400-400 meters on the track. This was a good one because it started with a distance long enough to need to conserve some energy and find a good rhythm, then a “mile” because it’s always nice to have a mile split, a similar interval but a little faster, and then two much-faster laps. I ended up doing a third 400, and I’m not really sure why. I guess I felt I had more in me…and that wasn’t the best feeling post-last-400. I started it with some runners aiming to go slower, as their pacer of sorts, then decided to just speed up, why not. My splits were: 9:36 (6:24 pace), 6:14, 4:38, 1:24, 1:20, 1:23.

This is a pic of the track we've been using for workouts...this was taken during an all-comers meet in June, though...hence all the people and the warm sun....

This is a pic of the track we’ve been using for workouts…this was taken during an all-comers meet in June, though, hence all the people and the warm sun….

October 1 mile repeats: The first PI workout of this month was a bold one: 5 x mile. There was some debate over if it was 5 x 1600m or 5 x mile, so we (my sub-group anyway) ended up doing the first one as a full mile and the rest as 1600m. I was feeling pretty tired going into this due to the insane amount of time I spent in a car the weekend before, plus the draining Monday I had following that. I wasn’t really sure what my goal should be going into it, but I decided I would be happy if a.) I executed the workout better than I did in the spring, and b.) I averaged around 6:17 (ultimate goal 5k pace if I were to race one all-out right now, especially on a track).

The results:

apriloct

Note: 6:23 mile = ~6:21 1600. So, I averaged 6:19 in April and 6:16 in October. A small difference…but I did it in a much better way.

This day for me also included a 1.94-mile warmup and cooldown to and from the track, at about 7:49 average pace, bringing my total mileage to almost 9. This is the kind of Tuesday I would like to have. While the easy miles aren’t necessarily quality miles, it does allow me to get them in, and I think feeling strong in the last mile or so (finished at 7:21 pace) of a cooldown post-hard workout does actually benefit you.

I’ve already shared this past Sunday’s run – it was the course preview for Sunday. I got in seven miles on trails Tuesday instead of the intervals workout (it was hill repeats this week) to get in some more recovery. I’m feeling very confident about the race, and getting more and more excited by the day! To make things even more epic, I checked my bib number the other night and this is what I saw:

bibnoI’m not sure if I can explain how excited I got without sounding crazy. Numbers just really excite me, okay? It doesn’t take much sometimes….13 is my favorite number – it’s my birthday day, when I used to play team sports back in the day I always insisted on being #13, it has been my house number once…AND it’s the year 2013, the race is on the 13th…I could go on and on. It’s like they knew I’d want it. Somebody did point out to me that it would be pretty cool if I was #10, since it’s the “Perfect 10.” But now two of us can feel lucky.  

One last thing – I am now cross-blogging for work on Run.com’s new WordPress site! Chances are my posts on there will be less personal versions of what I write on here (like the course preview post, which is all I’ve done so far), but there will also likely be posts about more local events and running routes that will be useful to you if you are in the NJ area, so check it out from time to time!

2 thoughts on “Running lately

  1. Pingback: Running in 2013 | SHOE STORiES

Leave a Reply

