the best holiday of the year

Friends, it’s that time again:

halloweenIt should be known that Halloween is my absolute favorite holiday of the year. That being said, it always causes me a ton of stupid, unnecessary stress in the weeks leading up to it. You see, in my mind, Halloween is a time when I can go all-out and be really creative with creating a costume – basically turning myself into a piece of artwork. The stress comes into play when I realize I only have one chance during the year to do this! Therefore, it must be perfect. Hello, self-pressure. Another challenge is making sure I have everything I need to buy before stores close for the day, which is sometimes difficult with my work schedule (I’m usually not done until 7 or 8 at night). Yet another challenge is…trying not to actually buy too much. Needless to say, I am ready for Halloween Season 2013 to begin! I say “season” because if you celebrate Halloween like I do, it’s not just October 31. So before I spoil the surprise for this year (it’s not totally finished yet…but needs to be by tomorrow, yikes), here’s a look back at some of my costumes since I started this DIY costume madness.

2010: Lady Gaga

I figured Gaga would go out of style, at least Halloween-costume-worthy style, if I waited another year to do this, so I went for it. I looked at photos of a bunch of her crazy outfits and created a Gaga-inspired one of my own. A good place to start for nearly any costume is a black dress. With a glue gun, spraypaint, and other random things, anything is possible from there.

halloween10

2011 Part 1: Hershey Kiss

I was a Hershey Kiss for Halloween when I was three. Why not recycle an old idea (that certainly was not even mine the first time around…)? So, eighteen years later I was a Hershey Kiss again. I thought the shape of the Gaga dress from the year before would work well, so I spray painted it silver and hot-glued aluminum foil pieces to the tiers of fabric. This was the hardest costume I ever made. It also didn’t last for more than one party.

2011 Part 2: Christmas Tree

I sort of want to forget Part 2 even happened, because a.) the Halloween excitement certainly got the best of me that night and b.) the costume was awful. The Hershey kiss had fallen apart and I’d run out of glue sticks with which to repair it. It was snowing outside, I didn’t feel like driving to a store, and I had two parties left to attend. What to do? I raided the closet of the house I was renting senior year of college and found lots of Christmas decorations. And put them on. It was ridiculous that it was snowing in October, so I might as well make fun of mother nature, right? Conclusion: Part 1 was better, and there are hardly any pictures worthy of posting.

I told you it was bad.

I told you it was bad.

2012: Peacock

This idea came to me randomly and I totally ran away with it. It was so much fun. And I could re-wear it at any time, because it didn’t fall apart at all.

halloween12

2013…TBA!

But here’s a hint:

By the way, this is my first EVER Instagram photo. So exciting! I’m either going to use it all the time or never again. To find out, follow me here.

*    *    *    *    *

An update: Thanks for the comments on my last post! It really helped to know that other people didn’t think I came off as ridiculous for wanting my results to be accurate. The good news is…they now are! Cheers to published, accurate PRs!

rwresults

2 thoughts on “the best holiday of the year

  1. Great costumes!!! Well I am pretty sure you are going to wear your green sparkle skirt with those shoes!! What could you be?
    Glad you got your results fixed. I just did the Nike women’s in SF and my chip didn’t record my start time…so luckily I had my watch on and sent an email to the timing people and they fixed it!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: costumes, headlamps, and a little more on writing… | SHOE STORiES

Leave a Reply

