Christmas 2013: the ugly, the classy, and the sweaty

After a post that was mostly words, here is one with mostly pictures to balance it out. I didn’t run any holiday-themed races this time around, but I had probably my best Christmas season yet – meaning, I actually enjoyed it and am a little sad to see it go.

My sweater would suggest otherwise:

Don’t be fooled. My heart’s grown three sizes.

Screw goodwill, Walmart + Michael’s was the way to go. I had a lot of fun painting it…the problem was, it turned out better than I expected. Therefore, it wasn’t quite ugly enough to win the ugly sweater contest at a local bar that night. But, I did get cookies for my effort, and my friend got second place and was awarded with a huge cooler! He didn’t win the $100 cash prize because a.) he won that on Halloween…got to spread the love, right? and b.) a guy who got second last year won this year…and he should have won last year because he wore this:

Caption contest?

All was fair.

xmasAlso, I think we definitely won in the end because we convinced our favorite bartender to attend our party the following night. It was a “classy” party, so some pictures are required:

20131220_225211

20131220_223820Santa attended as well:

20131221_000037An argument can now hopefully be made that I’m not always covered in sweat and mud making pain faces. 🙂 In case you were wondering how long it would take for me to get dirty again though, the answer was about twelve hours:

Bike ride on the roads on a 60 degree day...that melted snow was not very clean.

Bike ride on the roads on a 60 degree day…that melted snow on the shoulders was not very clean.

Overall, it was a great week with both friends and family, and as I gushed about last week, I couldn’t be more grateful.

Leave a Reply

