track is back

So, remember that time I raced a road mile? Apparently I wasn’t quite done with the speedy stuff. Despite almost bailing on the idea due to feeling a little burnt out, I biked over to a track last Tuesday night to participate in an all-comer track meet. I had watched the meet last summer from the sidelines, due to my frustrating injury. This year, I am on a mission to replace all the memories of those summer races spent wishing I could run with new ones of, well, actually running. And attempting to run well. My main event of the evening was the 3k, and I figured I would do the 800 too to get more of my money’s worth…why not.

Running the 3200m at my county meet in 2007.

Running the 3200m at my county meet in 2007.

Let me give a brief history of the 3k, in the context of my personal running career. In high school, I didn’t race the 3k, but rather the 3200. I can’t even count how many 3200s I have raced, between dual meets, conference meets, county meets, and state sectional meets. I’ve raced the 3200 a lot, both indoors and outdoors. My PR is 11:53, from a scrimmage held two days after what was supposed to be my time to shine in the conference meet, pulling out my first sub-12 despite doubting coaches. I was never fresh for a 3200 (I always raced the 1600 beforehand, and my PR was 12:09 from a meet when I raced fresh indoors), so I knew I had it in me to do it if it was my sole event. A thunderstorm minutes before the race was scheduled halted my plans, and so I angrily gutted it out at this little scrimmage instead. That season (spring 2007) was my last [pretty much] entirely healthy season until…2013. I got back into the 12:20s after only a month of running the next year after a stress fracture, but I never really had time to train for a PR again unfortunately. In college, we would run a 3200 time trial the second day of preseason, and again, always coming off of a post-stress-fracture summer buildup, I’d run in the 12:50s and be satisfied. Indoors, the 3k was my main event, but there was only one season when I got to race it multiple times. I was always very unhappy with my results – I’d usually run 11:50-something. My official best time for 3k was 11:48 indoors (also not happy with that, as I expected to be running that kind of time for two miles).

So, I showed up to the meet Tuesday not knowing what to expect. I knew I was in shape to get a 3k PR. I didn’t expect to get a 3200 equivalent 3k PR, if that makes any sense – just because I was only two months out from a marathon and wasn’t training specifically for the event. I should mention it was ninety degrees and sunny, and the track was black….I had some chest pains warming up, and honestly expected to tank the race due to that. I also gave up on trying to find my hardly worn track spikes, so I wore flats. Having awoken at 4:45am, I had wanted caffeine but admittedly had it too late in the day, causing the distress. Oops. I know better. I got on the line anyway and hoped for the best. A lot of fast runners ended up showing up, so they took it out fast! My first lap was way faster than I planned, about 84 seconds, but at least that was what I used to do in high school 3200s….I was still under 6-minute pace at 800m, and my mile was 6:03ish. I was surprised how good I felt: the caffeine-induced chest pain was unnoticeable now which never happens (it always gets worse the faster I run), and my legs were not nearly as tired as I expected them to be after biking around all day. I could tell I was dehydrated, but a 3k race is hardly cause for concern, especially since I was over halfway through it. I picked it up with about 600m to go, and gave it all I had the last 200m. My official time was 11:24.0, satisfying my unspoken goal of sub-11:30. While one of my first thoughts was that I would have been faster on the day of the College Ave Mile, because of all the unfavorable circumstances of this particular day, I was happy with my time and the way I felt throughout. Now if only I had ran that time during indoor conferences in college…better late than never I suppose.

Image

Oh, so then I ran an 800 too. That was sort of laughable, and I didn’t really prepare too well for it (mostly because the chest tightness/acid reflux returned after the 3k…), but it was fun I guess. Anything that’s two laps can’t be too bad. I ended up running it alone, because there was a big pack of guys and one younger (really fast) girl who ran in the 2:20s, and two little kids who ran 3:30. I ran 2:40.0 even and called it a day. 800s are so short and fast…. Results from the meet are here.

Image

Start of the 800. The kids were intimidated I think.

Biking back home afterwards, I felt way more relaxed about, well, life, than I had before. I was in quite the funk on Monday, and I was at a loss as to what could possibly pull me out of it. Turns out throwing myself into two track races in ninety degree heat after a super long day was the answer, at least for a little while. I suppose this is proof for the argument that runners aren’t 100% sane. I wouldn’t want it any other way, though.

Leave a Reply

